Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science is a private, graduate school located in North Chicago, Illinois. Although the university was established in 1967, its history dates back earlier to its precursor The Chicago Hospital-College of Medicine which was founded in Chicago in 1912. A group of physicians had decided to form a non-profit school to serve the needs of medical students who could only attend classes at night. Thus in 1967, the University of Health Sciences/The Chicago Medical School was formed; designed in such a way that teams of health professionals came together to bring the diagnostic, supportive, and investigative functions of medicine together in one setting. The following year, the University of Health Sciences established the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies followed by the The School of Related Health Sciences in 1970. In 1980, the university was relocated to its current address in North Chicago and offically renamed Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science, in honor of Dr. Rosalind Franklin, whose work with X-ray crystallography provided the data and scientific basis for description of the structure of DNA, the single most important development of modern biology.

Today, the university offers over 15 study programs in graduate health-related subjects and provides doctorate programs for medical and basic research. It is organized into five academic schools and colleges; namely, the Chicago Medical School; the College of Health Professions; the Dr. William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine, the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies; and the New College of Pharmacy.

Estimated cost of attendance for academic year 2009-2010 is broken down into full-year tuition of US$27,350; living expenses at US$15,300 and cost of books and supplies at US$1,706 for a total of US$44,356.

For more information on admissions, college majors, reviews, degrees offered, online programs, athletics, school rankings, tuition, scholarships and financial aid options, please contact Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science.