Pfeiffer University is a private, four-year comprehensive university located in Misenheimer, North Carolina. Founded in 1885 as the Oberlin Home and School in Caldwell County, North Carolina, the school was renamed Ebenezer Mitchell Home and School in 1903 in memory of the stepson of Mrs. Mary Mitchell whose contributions facilitated completion of improvements on the property. A fire in 1908 destroyed the school, prompting it to relocate to nearby Lenoir. Still inadequate to house the school’s ballooning student population, the school moved again to its current location in Misenheimer in 1910. In 1996, the Board of Trustees of the college voted to take the necessary steps to help the school achieve university status. It was at this time that the school was given its current name – Pfeiffer University.

Today, Pfeiffer University offers undergraduate, graduate and adult education programs. It maintains its close affiliation with the United Methodist Church and remains committed to its mission of educational excellence, service, and scholarship.

The university is organized into seven academic divisions through which students can choose their field of specialization. These schools include the School of Business, School of Education, School of Fine Arts, School of Literature, Languages and Communication, School of Religion, School of Social and Behavioral Sciences, and The Graduate School.

Cost of attendance at the university is US$19,040 per year plus room and board of around US$7,798 for fulltime, undergraduate students living on campus. Part-time students pay a tuition cost per semester hour of US$435. Financial aid in the form of loans, grants and scholarships for qualified students is extended by the university to help students pay for their cost of attendance.

For more information on admissions, college majors, degrees offered, online programs, athletics, school rankings, tuition, scholarships and financial aid options, please contact Pfeiffer University.