The University of New England (UNE) is an independent, coeducational university having two (2) distinct physical campuses. It is comprised of five (5) schools namely the College of Arts and Sciences, the Westbrook College of Health Professions, College of Osteopathic Medicine, College of Pharmacy and the College of Graduate Studies. In the 2011 US News and World Report Ranking, UNE places 81st in Tier I of Top Regional University (North) Category. It is accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.

Online programs include courses in Medical Biology, Medical Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Microbiology, Medical Physiology, Statistics, and Anatomy from the College of Osteopathic Medicine; Master’s degrees with several concentrations and post-master’s certificate programs in Education and Education Leadership from the Department of Education; Healthcare for Geriatrics from the Maine Geriatric Education Center; Certificate and Master’s programs in Public Health; and Master’s programs in Social Work. Online students form an integral part of the university and are linked technologically with faculty members, service personnel, academic advisors and student peers.

Tuition rates vary. The estimated total cost per year is $ 26,030.00 for a full-time course load for graduate students. There are applicable fees charged depending on the chosen program. Cost of attendance includes both direct and indirect costs unless otherwise indicated. Online students are given access to financial aid through federal assistance, private loans, grants and scholarships. Prospective students can contact the Office of Admissions for complete information regarding online programs and admissions requirements.

UNE traces its beginnings to a junior college named the College of Seraphique. It merged with the New England Foundation for Osteopathic Medicine when it was already known as St. Francis College. The merger produced the University of New England in 1978. Another merger with Westbrook College resulted to the UNE Portland Campus. The main campus is known as the Biddeford Campus.