Eastern Kentucky University (Eastern or EKU) was founded as Central University in 1874. It became known as the Eastern Kentucky State Normal School in 1906 by the Kentucky General Institution. The words “and Teachers College” were added to the school name in 1925 but in 1948, the General Assembly removed “teacher” and simply called the school Eastern Kentucky State Normal School and College. The school was renamed Eastern Kentucky University in 1966.

Eastern’s main campus is located in Richmond, Kentucky, however, the school maintains satellite campuses in Corbin, Danville, and Manchester, as well as regional centers in Fort Knox, Lancaster and Somerset. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and the school is authorized to offer Undergraduate and Graduate courses and degree programs. These courses can be taken on-campuses while some, particularly those offered by the College of Justice and Safety, can be completed online.

EKU’s College and Justice Safety, which houses the Department of Criminal Justice, and the Department of Safety, Security and Emergency Management, offers 12 online degree programs: 2 Bachelor’s degrees, 2 Master’s degrees, and 8 (1 undergraduate, 5 graduate and 2 professional) Certificates.

Tuition fee for online courses is $358.00 per credit hour for undergraduate programs and $517.00 per credit hour for graduate programs. Financial aid, in the form of federal and state grants, student loans and Scholarships, can be availed of by eligible students.

Students who wish to apply for admission at EKU can do this through any of their campuses or online. Applicants for the undergraduate programs must complete the application form, have completed high school education (or its equivalent) with an average grade of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale, and have a composite score of 18 on the ACT or an 870 on the SAT exams. The Kentucky Pre-College Curriculum must be met and copies of high-school transcripts and GED results are to be submitted. Graduate program applicants must meet a different set of admissions requirements. For further information, contact the Admissions office.